Talk:Puppet Master Geohash

From Geo Hashing
Jump to: navigation, search

Now what if I took a puppet to the geohash location and operated it there? --CJ 13:49, 30 October 2008 (UTC)

You'd get the Circus Geohash achievement, of course. --Ilpadre 13:53, 30 October 2008 (UTC)
We had an edit conflict as I attempted to post the same comment. -Robyn 13:57, 30 October 2008 (UTC)


Now that this award has been taken a few times it seems that it has a function as the long-distance equivalent of the Drag-along achievement. If someone who has not yet created a userpage goes to their first geohash at your urging, but at a time or place where you are not able to accompany them, then you qualify for the puppet master. (If they already had a userpage on the wiki, then they were already a geohasher, so didn't meet the "not a geohasher" qualification). Of course if they return from the expedition and create a page to report their expedition, they are now a geohasher, so no one else can use them as a puppet.

Is this a result of people choosing puppets who might like to be geohashers, or is geohashing just so cool that when you do it once, you're hooked? No new information here, just an interesting development. -Robyn 22:00, 19 July 2009 (UTC)

Multiple Puppets?[edit]

I'm wondering ... should there be an achievement for having puppets at the greatest number of points on the same day, or something? I'd think that could be fun to orchestrate. -- Angel 09:38, 1 March 2012 (EST)

That would be pretty awesome, indeed! If you manage the feat, we will certainly make that a Multi-Puppet Master or something. Seriously, we create ribbons for almost anything - it may be an achievement if it's repeatable and to be encouraged, or at least a gratuitous ribbon of appreciation. I'm just reluctant to create achievement ribbons a priori for things that are very difficult. We've had a few that were never claimed in ages. -- relet 10:33, 1 March 2012 (EST)

Combining with other achievements[edit]

I think it would be useful to set rules saying what other achievements can be reasonably claimed while getting this one and by whom. For example, if I send a puppet to a virgin graticule can I claim the achievement? Or should it be eligible only to the puppet person if she decides to join the community? What about minesweeper, border geohash etc. etc.?