Talk:Multihash

From Geo Hashing
Jump to: navigation, search

Types of Multihash - agree or disagree?

  • Visiting multiple coordinates in one graticule. The only "letigimate" ones you could visit on a given day are
    • the current day's coordinates OR the proposed alternate meetup location
    • the coordinate of your birth (or Origin Geohash)
  • Visiting multiple graticules in a single day. Except for time zones (or time machines), only one set of coordinates will be at the "official" 4:00 time, of course.

The problem is, the Multihash achievement doesn't specify which of these (although it leans to the latter, listing a "triple" geohash and more). Should both types qualify for this achievement?--Thomcat

I believe I can consider this question answered, per the Template:Multihash. The former qualifies for "Origin" geohash; the latter for Multihash.--Thomcat 22:50, 13 July 2008 (UTC)
I have strong opinions on this and will be happy to edit the achievement page to reflect them. They have to be real coordinates in different graticules, not alternate meetup locations or ommemorative date geohashes. The only exeption (oh fuk my c-key I am through with going back to edit when it doesn't fire) should be for gratiules on the international date line which sometimes have two geohashes at once and sometimes have none at all. -Robyn 05:03, 12 September 2008 (UTC)
I can envisage another way to get 2 in one graticule; though perhaps it should be worthy of a gratuitous achievement instead. If I can get it, I'll probably end up naming it "It wasn't so easy back in my day" ... Visiting the coordinates for the same graticule, same day, with and without the 30W rule. -- Angel 04:03, 22 April 2012 (EDT)
In each graticule and on each day, there is only one valid hashpoint, either the W30 or the non-W30, depending on the location. This is not a choice. So visiting both of them doesn't qualify you for a multihash because you still visited only one actual hashpoint. --Ekorren 08:37, 22 April 2012 (EDT)
I am interested in the "4pm" aspect. I've been reading a lot of this wiki since I started actively hashing in June, and it's still not clear to me how important it is to be at the co-ordinates at that time. I'm planning a Double Hash this Monday, and I may not be at either hash point at that time. Am I "cheating"? --macronencer 23:37, 24 July 2009 (UTC)
4 pm is the official time for saturdays. The purpose of this convention is to set a time where the chance is highest to meet other geohashers at the point. For this purpose there is also the XKCD Centurion achievement where you count how many of these geohashes you reached, and the XKCD-100 if you travel far. Apart from that, there is no need to be there at 4 pm. It's still a geohashing expedition, and it may still be awesome, no matter at which time of the day you are there, as long as it is on the right day and the right place. Have fun! --Ekorren 23:42, 24 July 2009 (UTC)
Yup, no need to worry too much about the meetup time unless you actually expect random people to show up. :D -- relet 05:24, 22 April 2012 (EDT)


[edit] Passing through a geohash before its time?

What is it called when you travel through a spot that a few days later becomes a geohash location? See 2008-08-23 39 -74. -- Jevanyn 18:27, 2 September 2008 (UTC)

The antonym of retro, perhaps = Posi-hash? Or perhaps Fore-hash (accepting any confusion with a Golf geohash)? Seriously, though, a geohash is only valid for 24 hours, with "origin geohash" getting special dispensation. As in the case above, an origin is not part of a multi-hash - I don't think this should be either. Now, if you had an infant with you who was born on that day... --Thomcat 19:26, 2 September 2008 (UTC)
The Déjà Vu Geohash covers that circumstance, but only if you a) can prove it and b) go back. -Robyn 04:04, 12 September 2008 (UTC)
Do you have to go back? Oh, apparently you have to, and I can't read. -- Relet 11:33, 12 September 2008 (UTC)

[edit] 2008-02-27

Would it be a good idea to use this date (2008-02-27) for an example of the 360 graticals in a day at a pole. This one falls at .999896 if someone could work out how far this would actualy be from the pole even better. TunezNZ 08:10, 15 September 2008 (UTC)

0.38 arc seconds, that should be about 11.7 meters / 38 feet. It's funny, 1 arc second in N-S direction on earth is about 100 feet, easy to remember, did anyone know this? Next time we have to tell those south pole scientists, they could have a merry dance around the pole(-pole), standing on 3 hashpoints at a time (with a distance of 10 centimeters / 0.3 ft between the hashpoints), if I calculated correctly. Danatar 15:39, 17 September 2008 (UTC)

You may find it easier to remember then, that one arc minute in north south direction is about 9 furlongs. -- Relet 16:24, 17 September 2008 (UTC)
Also known as a nautical mile. --starbird 04:20, 25 July 2009 (UTC)

[edit] partial success multihashes

Is there any leeway (and should there be) for Partially successful multihashes?

Using my recent 2009-05-30 -36 144 and 2009-05-30 -36 143 hashes as an example, where one was a success and one was a failure (due to no trespassing), is there some way of marking those as a multi without taking a full double-hash ribbon? I'm not too worried about that trip in particular (especially as I managed a triple the next day ), but it does seem to me some sort of consolation ribbon would be appropriate.

If someone goes to the effort of trying for more than one hash in a day, gets close, but misses some points due to inaccessibility, I think the whole effort is worth ribbony recognition, not just the successful part.

My initial suggestions would be (one or both of):

  • Specifically for double-hashes: have a consolation 'attempted a multi' prize.
  • Have a 'partial success' multihash ribbon, along the lines of user attempted x hashes, but was only successful at n of them
-- mykaDragonBlue [- i have no sig -] 11:13, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
Perhaps as honorable mention: "User earned the Multihash honorable mention by attempting and almost reaching x hashpoints...". It could count as "almost reach" if you are nearer to the hashpoint than to your starting point at the time of failure, or maybe 75% of the way. 90% would still be enough for most "no trespassing" opportunities. - Danatar 11:38, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
I'd say you would need to qualify for a fail consolation ribbon under normal circumstances in order to qualify for the multi consolation ribbon --mykaDragonBlue [- i have no sig -] 12:14, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
Support it that way. --Ekorren 12:54, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
  • I think you can just take a (few) consolation ribbon(s), and claim a hash or multihash for the successful ones. That's how I did it in the past. -- relet 05:22, 22 April 2012 (EDT)