This definitely was overdue for its own page. The recurring discussion on late/shifting coordinates needs to be added as an FAQ, and a general answer to "I did X, does it qualify for an achievement?" -Robyn 08:54, 23 January 2009 (UTC)
How about a "how do I know if I'm there?" - especially for those times when the GPS refuses to reach 0.00m remaining? I've been pretty much going by Robyn's standards for reaching the point, but that's on her page and not any central/"official" list. -- Rhonda 04:09, 7 September 2009 (UTC)
 "Close Enough"
I've had to mark both of my attempts this week as "no public access". But to make myself feel better, I've decided that (when analysing my tracklog) a point whose distance to the hashpoint is less than 1% of the distance walked to get there is "close enough". Maybe not for the rules; but good enough for my own sense of satisfaction. I wanted to ask if others did anything similar, but this is the only page I can find with reference to how close you need to be. -- Angel 10:41, 17 October 2012 (EDT)
- I quite like the explanation on the page ("You should be reasonably certain that there are no more significant obstacles between you and the uncertainty bubble of the geohash."). If you're not even getting within the "uncertainty bubble" of your GPS because of any type of obstacle then you didn't reach it. Personally, I consider a hash reached only if I get the "0 meter" screenshot on my GPS although there are exceptions e.g. when I've already crawled through 10 meters of dense and wet undergrowth and have made it only as close as two meters away from the hash. As that's within the aforementioned bubble and I've worked hard to get there I usually call that "reached" as well.
- As for your 1% rule? We've had a lot of people walking several kilometers to hashes (me included but not too often). I wouldn't want them to call it "close enough" although they're still something like 50 meters from the hash just because they walked five kilometers. My 2 cents. Then again, it's supposed to be fun. At least it should be, even if you don't always reach the spot. So don't take it too seriously :D Mampfred 11:38, 17 October 2012 (EDT)
- We have two categories - expeditions and coordinates reached. It is perfectly acceptable to go on an expedition and not reach the coordinates, and there are ribbons for many of the reasons. No "Close Enough" needed. How can you claim MNIMB if you haven't failed a few times first? --Thomcat 12:00, 17 October 2012 (EDT)