Talk:Border geohash achievement
How strong to interpret "express purpose" in this context?
I admit that I had forgotten about "express purpose" when I claimed that achievement, but now I wonder whether I should delete it again. I would have gone to Luxembourg even without the hashpoint being there, but that way I postponed other goals and went straight from the border the fastest way to the hashpoint. Would that still count?
- I would say you can keep it until the international goehashing rules committee has convened, and I bet before that happens you'll have another transborder geohash with no ulterior motives. You could just put a big asterisk next to it. :-) -Robyn 18:42, 31 October 2008 (UTC)
A bit of a political question...
So I had that idea of making an expedition to the area of the Palestinian Territories (don't tell my parents though). The Palestinians declared it as an independent country but big parts of it are still under direct Israeli control. Will going there count as a Border Geohash? Same question goes for Golan Heights, claimed by both Israel and Syria. LiNaK (talk) 09:59, 6 March 2013 (EST)
- I would definitely say that if an entity has declared itself an independent country, and you cross into its claimed territory, that you have achieved a border hash. Declaring or proxying someone to declare an independent country for the purpose of achieving a border geohash would not count. Some areas are more conducive to border hashing than others. Please do not risk minefields, arrest, or execution to gain this achievement. -Robyn (talk) 21:37, 6 March 2013 (EST)